LEGALDIGMLEGALDIGM
    ← Revised Code of Washington
    Beta
    RCW ch. 46.17

    RCW ch. 46.17 — Revised Code of Washington Chapter 46.17 RCW — Vehicle Fees

    Beta. Legal information, not legal advice. LEGALDIGM is not a law firm. Check the official source for the current text.

    RCW 46.17.005 Filing fees. (1) A person who applies for a vehicle registration or for any other right to operate a vehicle on the highways of this state shall pay a $6 filing fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. (2) A person who applies for a certificate of title shall pay a $6.50 filing fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. (3) The filing fees established in this section must be distributed under RCW 46.68.400. [ 2025 c 417 s 107; 2019 c 417 s 3; 2010 c 161 s 501.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.015 License plate technology fee. (1) A person who applies for a vehicle registration or for any other right to operate a vehicle on the highways of this state shall pay a 25 cent license plate technology fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The license plate technology fee must be distributed under RCW 46.68.370. (2) A vehicle registered under RCW 46.16A.455 or 46.17.330 is not subject to the license plate technology fee, except for a vehicle subject to the fee under RCW 46.17.355. (3) The revenue generated from subsection (2) of this section must be deposited in the move ahead WA account created in RCW 46.68.510. [ 2023 c 431 s 2; 2022 c 182 s 207; 2010 c 161 s 502.] NOTES: Intent— RCW 46.17.025 License service fee. (1) A person who applies for a vehicle registration or for any other right to operate a vehicle on the highways of this state shall pay a 75 cent license service fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, the license service fee must be distributed under RCW 46.68.220. (2) A vehicle registered under RCW 46.16A.455 or 46.17.330 is not subject to the license service fee, except for a vehicle subject to the fee under RCW 46.17.355. (3)(a) Two-thirds of the revenue generated from subsection (2) of this section must be deposited in the move ahead WA account created in RCW 46.68.510. (b) One-third of the revenue generated from subsections (1) and (2) of this section must be deposited into the driver education safety improvement account created in RCW 46.68.540. [ 2025 c 299 s 17; 2023 c 431 s 3; 2022 c 182 s 208; 2010 c 161 s 503.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.030 Parking ticket surcharge. The department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require a person who applies for a vehicle registration for a vehicle subject to RCW 46.16A.120 to pay a fifteen dollar parking ticket surcharge. The fifteen dollar surcharge must be distributed under RCW 46.68.445. [ 2010 c 161 s 504.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.040 Service fees. (1) The department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall collect a service fee of: (a) $18 for changes in a certificate of title, changes in ownership for nontitled vehicles, or for verification of record and preparation of an affidavit of lost title other than at the time of the certificate of title application or transfer, in addition to any other fees or taxes due at the time of application; and (b) $11 for a registration renewal, issuing a transit permit, or any other service under this section, in addition to any other fees or taxes due at the time of application. (2) Service fees collected under this section by the department or county auditor or other agent appointed by the director must be credited to the capital vessel replacement account under RCW 47.60.322. [ 2025 c 417 s 108; 2019 c 417 s 2; 2018 c 79 s 1; 2014 c 59 s 2; 2011 c 171 s 55; 2010 c 161 s 506.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.050 Fees associated with a report of sale. (1) Until June 30, 2017, before accepting a report of sale filed under RCW 46.12.650(2), the county auditor or other agent or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay: (a) The filing fee under RCW 46.17.005(1), the license plate technology fee under RCW 46.17.015, and the license service fee under RCW 46.17.025 to the county auditor or other agent; and (b) The service fee under RCW 46.17.040(1)(b) to the subagent. (2)(a) Beginning July 1, 2017, before accepting a report of sale filed under RCW 46.12.650(2), the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay the filing fee under RCW 46.17.005(1), the license plate technology fee under RCW 46.17.015, the license service fee under RCW 46.17.025, and the service fee under RCW 46.17.040(1)(b). (b) Service fees collected under (a) of this subsection by the department or county auditor or other agent appointed by the director must be credited to the capital vessel replacement account under RCW 47.60.322. [ 2017 c 147 s 12; 2015 3rd sp.s. c 44 s 211; 2014 c 59 s 3; 2010 c 161 s 505.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.060 Fees associated with a transitional ownership record. (1) Until June 30, 2017, before accepting a transitional ownership record filed under RCW 46.12.660, the county auditor or other agent or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay: (a) The filing fee under RCW 46.17.005(1), the license plate technology fee under RCW 46.17.015, and the license service fee under RCW 46.17.025 to the county auditor or other agent; and (b) The service fee under RCW 46.17.040(1)(b) to the subagent. (2)(a) Beginning July 1, 2017, before accepting a transitional ownership record filed under RCW 46.12.660, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay the filing fee under RCW 46.17.005(1), the license plate technology fee under RCW 46.17.015, the license service fee under RCW 46.17.025, and the service fee under RCW 46.17.040(1)(b). (b) Service fees collected under (a) of this subsection by the department or county auditor or other agent appointed by the director must be credited to the capital vessel replacement account under RCW 47.60.322. [ 2017 c 147 s 13; 2015 3rd sp.s. c 44 s 212; 2014 c 59 s 4; 2010 c 161 s 507.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.100 Application fee. (Effective until October 1, 2026.) Before accepting an application for a certificate of title as required in this title, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a fifteen dollar application fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. (1) Five dollars of the certificate of title application fee must be distributed under RCW 46.68.020. (2) Ten dollars of the certificate of title application fee must be credited to the transportation 2003 account (nickel account) created in RCW 46.68.280. [ 2012 c 74 s 1; 2010 c 161 s 508.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.110 Emergency medical services fee. (1) Before accepting an application for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle as required in this title, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a six dollar and fifty cent emergency medical services fee for the following transactions: (a) All retail sales or leases of any new or used motor vehicles; and (b) Original and transfer certificate of title transactions. (2) The emergency medical services fee: (a) Is not considered a violation of RCW 46.70.180(2); (b) Does not apply to motor vehicles declared a total loss by an insurer or self-insurer unless an application for certificate of title is made to the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director after the declaration of total loss; and (c) Must be distributed under RCW 46.68.440. [ 2010 c 161 s 509.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.120 Stolen vehicle check fee—Exemption. (1) Before accepting an application for a certificate of title for a vehicle previously registered in any other state or country, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a fee of $50. (a) $15 of the fee required by this section must be distributed under RCW 46.68.020. (b) $35 of the fee required by this section must be deposited in the move ahead WA account created in RCW 46.68.510. (2) Beginning July 1, 2026, before accepting an application for a certificate of title for a vehicle previously registered in any other state or country, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay, in addition to the fee specified in subsection (1) of this section, a fee of $25 which must be deposited in the move ahead WA account created in RCW 46.68.510. (3) An applicant is exempt from the fees specified in this section if the applicant previously registered the vehicle in Washington state and maintained ownership of the vehicle while registered in another state or country. [ 2022 c 182 s 203; 2020 c 239 s 1; 2010 c 161 s 513.] NOTES: Intent— RCW 46.17.130 Vehicle identification number inspection fee. Before accepting an application for a certificate of title, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require an applicant to pay a $65 inspection fee if an inspection of the vehicle was completed by the Washington state patrol. The inspection fee must be distributed under RCW 46.68.410. [ 2023 c 139 s 1; 2010 c 161 s 514.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.135 Vehicle identification number reassignment fee. Before accepting an application for a certificate of title, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require an applicant to pay a five dollar vehicle identification number reassignment fee if the Washington state patrol has reassigned an identification number as authorized under RCW 46.12.560. The reassignment fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. [ 2010 c 161 s 515.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.140 Late transfer of title penalty. The penalty for a late transfer under *RCW 46.12.650(7) is fifty dollars assessed on the sixteenth day after the date of delivery and two dollars for each additional day thereafter, but the total penalty must not exceed one hundred twenty-five dollars. The penalty must be distributed under RCW 46.68.020. [ 2012 c 74 s 2; 2010 c 161 s 512.] NOTES: *Reviser's note: RCW 46.17.150 Manufactured home title transfer fee. Before accepting an application for a transfer of certificate of title for a new or used manufactured home as required in this title and chapter 65.20 RCW, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a fifteen dollar fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The fifteen dollar fee must be forwarded to the state treasurer, who shall deposit the fee in the manufactured home installation training account created in RCW 43.22A.100. [ 2011 c 158 s 4; 2010 c 161 s 510.] NOTES: Transfer of residual funds to manufactured home installation training account— RCW 46.17.155 Manufactured home transaction fee. (1) Before accepting an application for a certificate of title for an original or transfer manufactured home transaction as required in this title or chapter 65.20 RCW, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a fee, in accordance with subsection (4) of this section, in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law if the manufactured home: (a) Is located in a mobile home park; (b) Is one year old or older; and (c) Is new or ownership changes, excluding changes that involve adding or deleting spouse or domestic partner coregistered owners or legal owners. (2) The fee amount established in subsection (4) of this section must be forwarded to the state treasurer, who shall deposit the fee in the manufactured/mobile home park relocation fund created in RCW 59.21.050. (3) The department and the state treasurer may adopt rules necessary to carry out this section. (4) The amount of the fee that the department must collect must be 0.25 percent of the sale price of the manufactured home, but in no case may the fee be less than one hundred dollars or greater than five hundred dollars. [ 2019 c 390 s 6; 2010 c 161 s 511.] NOTES: Finding— RCW 46.17.160 Quick title service fee. Before accepting an application for a quick title of a vehicle under RCW 46.12.555, the department, participating county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a fifty dollar quick title service fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The quick title service fee must be distributed under RCW 46.68.025. [ 2011 c 326 s 2.] NOTES: Application— RCW 46.17.200 Original issue fees—Reflectivity fee—Replacement fees—Moped fee—Retention fee—Transfer fees—Recovery fee for nonvehicular use. (1) In addition to all other fees and taxes required by law, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall charge: (a) The following license plate fees for each license plate, unless the owner or type of vehicle is exempt from payment: FEE TYPE FEE DISTRIBUTION Original issue $50.00 RCW 46.68.070 Reflectivity $2.00 RCW 46.68.070 Replacement $30.00 RCW 46.68.070 Original issue, motorcycle $20.00 RCW 46.68.070 Replacement, motorcycle $12.00 RCW 46.68.070 Original issue, moped $1.50 RCW 46.68.070 (b) A license plate retention fee, as required under RCW 46.16A.200(9)(a), of $20 if the owner wishes to retain the current license plate number upon license plate replacement, unless the owner or type of vehicle is exempt from payment. The $20 fee must be deposited in the multimodal transportation account created in RCW 47.66.070. (c) A $10 license plate transfer fee, as required under RCW 46.16A.200(8)(a), when transferring standard issue license plates from one vehicle to another, unless the owner or type of vehicle is exempt from payment. The $10 license plate transfer fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. (d) Former prisoner of war license plates, as described in RCW 46.18.235, may be transferred to a replacement vehicle upon payment of a $5 license plate fee, in addition to any other fee required by law. (2) The department may, upon request, provide license plates that have been used and returned to the department to individuals for nonvehicular use. The department may charge a fee of up to $5 per license plate to cover costs or recovery for postage and handling. The department may waive the fee for license plates used in educational projects and may, by rule, provide standards for the fee waiver and restrictions on the number of license plates provided to any one person. The fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. (3) $40 of the original issue license plate fee imposed under subsection (1)(a) of this section and $16 of the original issue motorcycle license plate fee imposed under subsection (1)(a) of this section must be deposited in the move ahead WA account created in RCW 46.68.510. (4) $20 of the replacement license plate fee imposed under subsection (1)(a) of this section and $8 of the replacement motorcycle license plate fee imposed under subsection (1)(a) of this section must be deposited in the move ahead WA account created in RCW 46.68.510. [ 2022 c 182 s 202; 2014 c 80 s 4; 2012 c 74 s 3; 2011 c 171 s 56; 2010 c 161 s 518.] NOTES: Intent— RCW 46.17.210 Personalized license plate fees. In addition to all fees and taxes required to be paid upon application for a vehicle registration under chapter 46.16A RCW, the holder of a personalized license plate shall pay an initial fee of $52 and $52 for each renewal. The personalized license plate fee must be distributed as provided in RCW 46.68.435. [ 2025 c 385 s 23; 2013 c 329 s 6; 2011 c 171 s 57; 2010 c 161 s 520.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.220 Special license plate fees. In addition to all fees and taxes required to be paid upon application for a vehicle registration in chapter 46.16A RCW, the holder of a special license plate shall pay the appropriate special license plate fee as listed in this section. PLATE TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE DISTRIBUTED UNDER (1) 4-H $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (2) Amateur radio license $ 5.00 N/A RCW 46.68.070 (3) Armed forces $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (4) Breast cancer awareness $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (5) Collector vehicle $ 35.00 N/A RCW 46.68.030 (6) Collegiate $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.430 (7) Donate life $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (8) Endangered wildlife $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (9) Firefighter memorial $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (10) Fred Hutch $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (11) Gonzaga University alumni association $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (12) Helping kids speak $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (13) Historical throwback $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (14) Horseless carriage $ 35.00 N/A RCW 46.68.030 (15) Keep kids safe $ 45.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (16) Keep Washington evergreen $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (17) Law enforcement memorial $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (18) LeMay-America's Car Museum $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (19) Military affiliate radio system $ 5.00 N/A RCW 46.68.070 (20) Mount St. Helens $40.00 $30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (21) Music matters $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (22) Nautical Northwest $40.00 $30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (23) Patches pal, or alternative name as designated by the department under RCW 46.04.383 $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (24) Professional firefighters and paramedics $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (25) Purple Heart $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (26) Ride share $ 25.00 N/A RCW 46.68.030 (27) San Juan Islands $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (28) Seattle Mariners $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (29) Seattle NHL hockey $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (30) Seattle Reign FC $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (31) Seattle Seahawks $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (32) Seattle Sounders FC $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (33) Seattle Storm $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (34) Seattle University $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (35) Share the road $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (36) Ski & ride Washington $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (37) Smokey Bear $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (38) Square dancer $ 40.00 N/A RCW 46.68.070 (39) State flower $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (40) State sport $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (41) United States Naval Academy $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (42) Volunteer firefighters $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (43) Washington apples $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (44) Washington farmers and ranchers $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (45) Washington lighthouses $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (46) Washington state aviation $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (47) Washington state honey bees and pollinators $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (48) Washington state parks $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (49) Washington state wrestling $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (50) Washington tennis $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (51) Washington wine $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (52) Washington's fish collection $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (53) Washington's national parks $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (54) Washington's wildlife collection $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (55) We love our pets $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 (56) Wild on Washington $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.425 (57) Working forests $ 40.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.420 [ 2025 c 385 s 4. Prior: 2022 c 239 s 1; 2022 c 117 s 1; prior: 2020 c 129 s 1; 2020 c 93 s 2; prior: 2019 c 384 s 2; 2019 c 177 s 2; 2018 c 67 s 4; prior: 2017 c 25 s 2; 2017 c 11 s 3; prior: 2016 c 36 s 2; 2016 c 31 s 2; 2016 c 30 s 3; 2016 c 16 s 2; 2016 c 15 s 2; prior: 2014 c 77 s 2; 2014 c 6 s 2; 2013 c 286 s 2; 2012 c 65 s 4; prior: 2011 c 229 s 3; 2011 c 225 s 2; 2011 c 171 s 58; 2010 c 161 s 521.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.230 Replacement license tab and windshield emblem fee. Before accepting an application for a replacement license tab or windshield emblem, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall charge a fifty cent fee for each tab or windshield emblem. The license tab or windshield emblem replacement fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. A replacement tab or emblem may be issued under this section only in conjunction with an application for a duplicate registration certificate under RCW 46.16A.190. [ 2017 c 147 s 6; 2011 c 171 s 59; 2010 c 161 s 519.] NOTES: Intent— RCW 46.17.240 Government vehicle license plate fee. State agencies, political subdivisions, Indian tribes, and the United States government, except foreign governments or international bodies, shall pay a fee of two dollars for a license plate or plates for each vehicle when the department assigns license plates for further assignment by the entity. [ 2010 c 161 s 517.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.250 Combination trailer license plate fee. Before accepting an application for a combination trailer license plate authorized under RCW 46.16A.450, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require an applicant to pay a thirty-six dollar license plate fee. The thirty-six dollar license plate fee must be deposited and distributed under RCW 46.68.035. [ 2010 c 161 s 516.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.260 Defective license plates—Replacement. (Effective January 1, 2027.) (1) A person who requests a replacement license plate for a license plate that is defective may receive a replacement set of license plates: (a) Completely free of charge without being subject to the following fees, if the request is made on or before the last day of the 24th month from the date of issuance of the defective plate: (i) The license plate and other fees in accordance with RCW 46.17.200; (ii) The filing fee in accordance with RCW 46.17.005; (iii) The license service fee in accordance with RCW 46.17.025; (iv) The service fee in accordance with RCW 46.17.040(1)(b); (v) The special license plate fee in accordance with RCW 46.17.220; (vi) The personalized license plate fee in accordance with RCW 46.17.210; (b) Completely free of charge without being subject to the fees specified (a) of this subsection, if the request is made after the last day of the 24th month and on or before the last day of the 60th month from the date of issuance of the defective plate, and if the defective plate meets the criteria as established by the department in rule. Based on the criteria as established by the department in rule, any of the fees specified in (a) of this subsection may be imposed, at the department's discretion, depending on the specific circumstances of the need for license plate replacement. (2) A license plate is considered defective for the purposes of this section if the plate is no longer functional. Lack of functionality is indicated when the numbers are no longer legible, the paint is peeling or bubbling, or when the plate materials have otherwise degraded. (3) The department may require the defective plate to be submitted with the request for replacement license plates in order for the person to qualify for reduced charges under subsection (1) of this section. (4) The department is not required to provide a replacement license plate at reduced charges in accordance with subsection (1) of this section if: (a) The license plate has been tampered with by manual means or was damaged in a vehicle collision with another vehicle, building, or object; (b) The defective license plate is associated with a vehicle registered as stolen and the person requesting the plate is not the owner or registered person of the vehicle; (c) The person has already received a replacement plate within the preceding five years; (d) The person has applied for or is submitting an application to transfer the license plate to a different vehicle; or (e) The department determines the license plate is not associated with a valid registration for the specific vehicle. (5) A person with one defective license plate is eligible to receive a replacement set of license plates under the terms of this section unless only one license plate is required by law. [ 2026 c 172 s 2.] NOTES: Application— RCW 46.17.305 Boat trailer fee. Before accepting an application for a vehicle registration for a boat trailer, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a three dollar aquatic weed fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The three dollar fee must be deposited in the freshwater aquatic weeds account created in RCW 43.21A.650. [ 2010 c 161 s 522.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.310 Change of class fee. Before accepting an application for a change of class as required under RCW 46.16A.200(6), the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a one dollar fee. The one dollar fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. [ 2010 c 161 s 523.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.315 Commercial vehicle safety enforcement fee. (1) Before accepting an application for a motor vehicle base plated in the state of Washington that is subject to highway inspections and compliance reviews by the Washington state patrol under RCW 46.32.080 or the international registration plan if base plated in a foreign jurisdiction, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a $32 commercial vehicle safety enforcement fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The $32 fee: (a) Must be apportioned for those vehicles operating interstate and registered under the international registration plan; (b) Does not apply to trailers; and (c) Is not refundable when the motor vehicle is no longer subject to RCW 46.32.080. (2) The department may deduct an amount equal to the cost of administering the program. All remaining fees must be deposited with the state treasurer and credited in equal proportions to the state patrol highway account of the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070 and the commercial truck safety and education account created in RCW 46.68.550. [ 2026 c 61 s 3; 2011 c 171 s 60; 2010 c 161 s 524.] NOTES: Findings— RCW 46.17.320 Duplicate registration fees. Before accepting an application for a duplicate registration as required under RCW 46.16A.190, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a one dollar and twenty-five cent fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The one dollar and twenty-five cent fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. [ 2010 c 161 s 525.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.323 Electric vehicle registration renewal fees—Electric motorcycles. (1) Before accepting an application for an annual vehicle registration renewal for a vehicle that both (a) uses at least one method of propulsion that is capable of being reenergized by an external source of electricity and (b) is capable of traveling at least 30 miles using only battery power, except for electric motorcycles, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director must require the applicant to pay a $100 fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The $100 fee is due only at the time of annual registration renewal. (2) This section only applies to a vehicle that is designed to have the capability to drive at a speed of more than 35 miles per hour. (3)(a) The fee under this section is imposed to provide funds to mitigate the impact of vehicles on state roads and highways and for the purpose of evaluating the feasibility of transitioning from a revenue collection system based on fuel taxes to a road user assessment system, and is separate and distinct from other vehicle license fees. Proceeds from the fee must be used for highway purposes, and must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070, subject to (b) of this subsection. (b) If in any year the amount of proceeds from the fee collected under this section exceeds $1,000,000, the excess amount over $1,000,000 must be deposited as follows: (i) Seventy percent to the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070; (ii) Fifteen percent to the transportation improvement account created in RCW 47.26.084; and (iii) Fifteen percent to the rural arterial trust account created in RCW 36.79.020. (4)(a) In addition to the fee established in subsection (1) of this section, before accepting an application for an annual vehicle registration renewal for a vehicle that both (i) uses at least one method of propulsion that is capable of being reenergized by an external source of electricity and (ii) is capable of traveling at least 30 miles using only battery power, except for electric motorcycles, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director must require the applicant to pay a $50 fee. (b) The fee required under (a) of this subsection must be distributed as follows: (i) The first $1,000,000 raised by the fee must be deposited into the multimodal transportation account created in RCW 47.66.070; and (ii) Any remaining amounts must be deposited into the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. (5) Beginning November 1, 2022, before accepting an application for an annual vehicle registration renewal for an electric motorcycle that uses propulsion units powered solely by electricity, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director must require the applicant to pay a $30 fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The $30 fee is due only at the time of annual registration renewal. (6) The fees collected pursuant to subsection (5) of this section shall be deposited into the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. (7) This section applies to annual vehicle registration renewals until the effective date of enacted legislation that imposes a vehicle miles traveled fee or tax. [ 2022 c 149 s 1; (2020 c 1 s 5 repealed by 2024 c 232 s 7); 2015 3rd sp.s. c 44 s 203; 2012 c 74 s 10.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.324 Transportation electrification fee. To realize the environmental benefits of electrification of the transportation system it is necessary to support the adoption of electric vehicles and other electric technology in the state by incentivizing the purchase of these vehicles, building out the charging infrastructure, developing greener transit options, and supporting clean alternative fuel infrastructure. Therefore, it is the intent of the legislature to support these activities through the imposition of new transportation electrification fees in this section. (1) A vehicle that both (a) uses at least one method of propulsion that is capable of being reenergized by an external source of electricity and (b) is capable of traveling at least thirty miles using only battery power, is subject to an annual seventy-five dollar transportation electrification fee to be collected by the department, county auditor, or other agent or subagent appointed by the director, in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. For administrative efficiencies, the transportation electrification fee must be collected at the same time as vehicle registration renewals and may only be collected for vehicles that are renewing an annual vehicle registration. (2) Beginning October 1, 2019, in lieu of the fee in subsection (1) of this section for a hybrid or alternative fuel vehicle that is not required to pay the fees established in RCW 46.17.323 (1) and (4), the department, county auditor, or other agent or subagent appointed by the director must require that the applicant for the annual vehicle registration renewal of such hybrid or alternative fuel vehicle pay a seventy-five dollar hybrid vehicle transportation electrification fee, in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. (3) The fees required under this section must be deposited in the electric vehicle account created in RCW 82.44.200, until July 1, 2025, when the fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle account [fund]. (4) This section only applies to a vehicle that is designed to have the capability to drive at a speed of more than thirty-five miles per hour. [ 2019 c 287 s 23.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.325 Farm exempt decal fee. Before accepting an application for a farm exempt decal as required under RCW 46.16A.420, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a five dollar fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The five dollar fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. [ 2010 c 161 s 526.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.330 Farm vehicle reduced gross weight license fee. (1) In lieu of the vehicle license fee required under RCW 46.17.350 and before accepting an application for a vehicle registration for farm vehicles described in RCW 46.16A.425, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant, unless specifically exempt, to pay the following farm vehicle reduced gross weight license fee by weight: WEIGHT SCHEDULE A SCHEDULE B 4,000 pounds $24.50 $24.50 6,000 pounds $24.50 $24.50 8,000 pounds $24.50 $24.50 10,000 pounds $40.50 $40.50 12,000 pounds $49.00 $49.00 14,000 pounds $54.50 $54.50 16,000 pounds $60.50 $60.50 18,000 pounds $86.50 $86.50 20,000 pounds $95.00 $95.00 22,000 pounds $102.00 $102.00 24,000 pounds $109.50 $109.50 26,000 pounds $115.00 $115.00 28,000 pounds $134.00 $134.00 30,000 pounds $153.00 $153.00 32,000 pounds $182.50 $182.50 34,000 pounds $193.50 $193.50 36,000 pounds $209.00 $209.00 38,000 pounds $228.50 $228.50 40,000 pounds $260.00 $260.00 42,000 pounds $270.00 $315.00 44,000 pounds $275.50 $320.50 46,000 pounds $295.50 $340.50 48,000 pounds $307.50 $352.50 50,000 pounds $333.00 $378.00 52,000 pounds $349.50 $394.50 54,000 pounds $376.50 $421.50 56,000 pounds $397.00 $442.00 58,000 pounds $412.50 $457.50 60,000 pounds $439.00 $484.00 62,000 pounds $470.00 $515.00 64,000 pounds $480.00 $525.00 66,000 pounds $533.50 $578.50 68,000 pounds $556.00 $601.00 70,000 pounds $598.00 $643.00 72,000 pounds $639.00 $684.00 74,000 pounds $693.50 $738.50 76,000 pounds $748.50 $793.50 78,000 pounds $816.50 $861.50 80,000 pounds $880.50 $925.50 82,000 pounds $941.00 $986.00 84,000 pounds $1,001.00 $1,046.00 86,000 pounds $1,061.50 $1,106.50 88,000 pounds $1,122.00 $1,167.00 90,000 pounds $1,182.50 $1,127.50 92,000 pounds $1,242.50 $1,287.50 94,000 pounds $1,303.00 $1,348.00 96,000 pounds $1,363.50 $1,408.50 98,000 pounds $1,424.00 $1,469.00 100,000 pounds $1,484.00 $1,529.00 102,000 pounds $1,544.50 $1,589.50 104,000 pounds $1,605.00 $1,650.00 105,500 pounds $1,665.50 $1,710.50 (2) Schedule A applies to vehicles either used exclusively for hauling logs or that do not tow trailers. Schedule B applies to vehicles that tow trailers and are not covered under Schedule A. (3) If the resultant gross weight is not listed in the table provided in subsection (1) of this section, it must be increased to the next higher weight. (4) The farm vehicle reduced gross weight license fees provided in subsection (1) of this section are in addition to the filing fee required under RCW 46.17.005 and any other fee or tax required by law. (5) The farm vehicle reduced gross weight license fee as provided in subsection (1) of this section must be distributed under RCW 46.68.035. [ 2017 c 147 s 7; 2010 c 161 s 527.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.335 Fixed load motor vehicle registration fees. Before accepting an application for a fixed load motor vehicle registration, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require an applicant to pay: (1) The license fee based on declared gross weight as provided in RCW 46.17.355. The declared gross weight must be equal to the scale weight of the motor vehicle, rounded up to the next higher amount in the schedule provided in RCW 46.17.355, up to the legal limit provided in chapter 46.44 RCW; or (2) A twenty-five dollar capacity fee if the vehicle is equipped for lifting or towing any abandoned, disabled, or impounded vehicle or parts of vehicles. The twenty-five dollar capacity fee is in lieu of the license fee based on declared gross weight as provided in RCW 46.17.355 and must be deposited under RCW 46.68.030. [ 2010 c 161 s 528.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.340 For hire vehicle and auto stage seating capacity fee. (1) Before accepting an application for a vehicle registration for a for hire vehicle or auto stage with a seating capacity of six or less, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a fifteen dollar seating capacity fee. The seating capacity fee must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. (2) The for hire vehicle and auto stage seating capacity fee imposed in subsection (1) of this section does not apply to taxicabs. [ 2010 c 161 s 529.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.345 Intermittent-use trailer registration fee. Before accepting an application for a permanent registration authorized under RCW 46.16A.428, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director must require an applicant to pay a one hundred eighty-seven dollar and fifty cent fee, which must be deposited and distributed under RCW 46.68.030. [ 2015 c 200 s 2.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.350 License fees by vehicle type. (1) Before accepting an application for a vehicle registration, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant, unless specifically exempt, to pay the following vehicle license fee by vehicle type: VEHICLE TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE DISTRIBUTED UNDER (a) Auto stage, six seats or less $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (b) Camper $ 4.90 $ 3.50 RCW 46.68.030 (c) Commercial trailer $ 34.00 $ 34.00 RCW 46.68.035 (d) For hire vehicle, six seats or less $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (e) Mobile home (if registered) $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (f) Moped $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (g) Motor home $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (h) Motorcycle $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (i) Off-road vehicle $ 18.00 $ 18.00 RCW 46.68.045 (j) Passenger car $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (k) Private use single-axle trailer $ 15.00 $ 15.00 RCW 46.68.035 (l) Snowmobile $ 50.00 $ 50.00 RCW 46.68.350 (m) Snowmobile, vintage $ 12.00 $ 12.00 RCW 46.68.350 (n) Sport utility vehicle $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (o) Tow truck $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (p) Trailer, over 2000 pounds $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (q) Travel trailer $ 30.00 $ 30.00 RCW 46.68.030 (r) Wheeled all-terrain vehicle, on-road use $ 12.00 $ 12.00 RCW 46.09.540 (s) Wheeled all-terrain vehicle, off-road use $ 18.00 $ 18.00 RCW 46.09.510 (2) The vehicle license fee required in subsection (1) of this section is in addition to the filing fee required under RCW 46.17.005, and any other fee or tax required by law. [ 2019 c 44 s 4; (2020 c 1 s 3 repealed by 2024 c 232 s 7); 2014 c 30 s 2; (2014 c 30 s 1 expired October 1, 2015); 2013 2nd sp.s. c 23 s 19; 2010 c 161 s 531.] NOTES: Application— RCW 46.17.355 License fees by weight. (1) In lieu of the vehicle license fee required under RCW 46.17.350 and before accepting an application for a vehicle registration for motor vehicles described in RCW 46.16A.455, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant, unless specifically exempt, to pay the following license fee by weight, to be adjusted annually as provided in subsection (8) of this section: WEIGHT SCHEDULE A SCHEDULE B 4,000 pounds $ 53.00 $ 53.00 6,000 pounds $80.00 $80.00 8,000 pounds $110.00 $110.00 10,000 pounds $140.00 $140.00 12,000 pounds $147.85 $147.85 14,000 pounds $182.60 $182.60 16,000 pounds $208.70 $208.70 18,000 pounds $234.80 $234.80 20,000 pounds $260.85 $260.85 22,000 pounds $286.95 $286.95 24,000 pounds $313.05 $313.05 26,000 pounds $339.15 $339.15 28,000 pounds $365.20 $365.20 30,000 pounds $391.30 $391.30 32,000 pounds $417.40 $417.40 34,000 pounds $443.50 $443.50 36,000 pounds $469.55 $469.55 38,000 pounds $495.65 $495.65 40,000 pounds $521.75 $521.75 42,000 pounds $547.85 $ 609.00 44,000 pounds $573.90 $ 620.00 46,000 pounds $600.00 $ 660.00 48,000 pounds $626.10 $ 684.00 50,000 pounds $652.15 $ 735.00 52,000 pounds $678.25 $ 768.00 54,000 pounds $ 732.00 $ 822.00 56,000 pounds $ 773.00 $ 863.00 58,000 pounds $ 804.00 $ 894.00 60,000 pounds $ 857.00 $ 947.00 62,000 pounds $ 919.00 $1,009.00 64,000 pounds $ 939.00 $1,029.00 66,000 pounds $ 1,046.00 $ 1,136.00 68,000 pounds $ 1,091.00 $ 1,181.00 70,000 pounds $ 1,175.00 $ 1,265.00 72,000 pounds $ 1,257.00 $ 1,347.00 74,000 pounds $ 1,366.00 $ 1,456.00 76,000 pounds $ 1,476.00 $ 1,566.00 78,000 pounds $ 1,612.00 $ 1,702.00 80,000 pounds $ 1,740.00 $ 1,830.00 82,000 pounds $ 1,861.00 $ 1,951.00 84,000 pounds $ 1,981.00 $ 2,071.00 86,000 pounds $ 2,102.00 $ 2,192.00 88,000 pounds $ 2,223.00 $ 2,313.00 90,000 pounds $ 2,344.00 $ 2,434.00 92,000 pounds $ 2,464.00 $ 2,554.00 94,000 pounds $ 2,585.00 $ 2,675.00 96,000 pounds $ 2,706.00 $ 2,796.00 98,000 pounds $ 2,827.00 $ 2,917.00 100,000 pounds $ 2,947.00 $ 3,037.00 102,000 pounds $ 3,068.00 $ 3,158.00 104,000 pounds $ 3,189.00 $ 3,279.00 105,500 pounds $ 3,310.00 $ 3,400.00 (2) Schedule A applies to vehicles either used exclusively for hauling logs or that do not tow trailers. Schedule B applies to vehicles that tow trailers and are not covered under Schedule A. (3) If the resultant gross weight is not listed in the table provided in subsection (1) of this section, it must be increased to the next higher weight. (4) The license fees provided in subsection (1) of this section and the freight project fee provided in subsection (6) of this section are in addition to the filing fee required under RCW 46.17.005 and any other fee or tax required by law. (5) The license fee based on declared gross weight as provided in subsection (1) of this section must be distributed under RCW 46.68.035. (6) In addition to the license fee based on declared gross weight required under subsection (1) of this section, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director must require an applicant with a vehicle with a declared gross weight of more than 10,000 pounds, unless specifically exempt, to pay a freight project fee equal to 15 percent of the license fee provided in subsection (1) of this section, rounded to the nearest whole dollar, which must be distributed under RCW 46.68.035. (7) In addition to the license fee based on declared gross weight required under subsection (1) of this section, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director must require an applicant with a vehicle with a declared gross weight of less than or equal to 12,000 pounds, unless specifically exempt, to pay an additional weight fee of $10, which must be distributed under RCW 46.68.035. (8) Beginning July 1, 2026, the vehicle license fee required in subsection (1) of this section must be adjusted annually by increasing the fee by two percent and the result must be rounded to the nearest five cents. [ 2025 c 417 s 104; 2015 3rd sp.s. c 44 s 201; (2020 c 1 s 4 repealed by 2024 c 232 s 7); 2011 c 171 s 61; 2010 c 161 s 530.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.360 Monthly declared gross weight license fees. A person applying for a monthly declared gross weight license as authorized in RCW 46.16A.455 shall pay an additional two dollars for each month of the declared gross weight license, plus an additional two dollars. These two dollar fees must be deposited in the motor vehicle fund created in RCW 46.68.070. [ 2010 c 161 s 532.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.365 Motor vehicle weight fee—Motor home vehicle weight fee. (Effective until January 1, 2029.) (1) A person applying for a motor vehicle registration and paying the vehicle license fee required in RCW 46.17.350(1) (a), (d), (e), (h), (j), (n), and (o) shall pay a motor vehicle weight fee in addition to all other fees and taxes required by law. For vehicle registrations that are due or become due on or after January 1, 2026, the motor vehicle weight fee: (a) Must be based on the motor vehicle scale weight as follows: WEIGHT FEE 4,000 pounds $35.00 6,000 pounds $65.00 8,000 pounds $82.50 16,000 pounds and over $96.00; (b) If the resultant motor vehicle scale weight is not listed in the table provided in (a) of this subsection, must be increased to the next highest weight; and (c) Must be distributed under RCW 46.68.415. (2) A person applying for a motor home vehicle registration shall, in lieu of the motor vehicle weight fee required in subsection (1) of this section, pay a motor home vehicle weight fee of $75 in addition to all other fees and taxes required by law. The motor home vehicle weight fee must be distributed under RCW 46.68.415. (3) The department shall: (a) Rely on motor vehicle empty scale weights provided by vehicle manufacturers, or other sources defined by the department, to determine the weight of each motor vehicle; and (b) Adopt rules for determining weight for vehicles without manufacturer empty scale weights. [ 2025 c 417 s 105; 2021 c 317 s 19; 2015 3rd sp.s. c 44 s 202; 2010 c 161 s 533.] NOTES: Expiration date— RCW 46.17.375 Recreational vehicle sanitary disposal fee. (1) Before accepting an application for registration for a recreational vehicle, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require an applicant to pay a three dollar fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. The recreational vehicle sanitary disposal fee must be deposited in the RV account created in RCW 46.68.170. (2) For the purposes of this section, "recreational vehicle" means a camper, motor home, or travel trailer. [ 2010 c 161 s 534.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.380 Abandoned recreational disposal fee. (1) Before accepting an application for a registration for a recreational vehicle, the department, county auditor, or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director, shall require an applicant to pay an $8 fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required by law. (2) The abandoned recreational disposal fee must be deposited into the abandoned recreational vehicle disposal account created in RCW 46.68.175. (3) For the purposes of this section, "recreational vehicle" means a camper, motor home, or travel trailer. [ 2025 c 417 s 109; 2018 c 287 s 4.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.400 Permit fees by permit or temporary license plate type. (1) Before accepting an application for one of the following permits or temporary license plates, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay the following permit or temporary license plate fee by permit or license type in addition to any other fee or tax required by law: PERMIT OR LICENSE TYPE FEE AUTHORITY DISTRIBUTION (a) Dealer temporary license plate $ 40.00 RCW 46.16A.300 RCW 46.68.030 (b) Department temporary license plate $ .50 RCW 46.16A.305 RCW 46.68.450 (c) Farm vehicle trip $ 6.25 RCW 46.16A.330 RCW 46.68.035 (d) Nonresident military $ 10.00 RCW 46.16A.340 RCW 46.68.070 (e) Nonresident temporary snowmobile $ 5.00 RCW 46.10.450 RCW 46.68.350 (f) Special fuel trip $ 30.00 RCW 82.38.100 RCW 46.68.460 (g) Temporary ORV use $ 7.00 RCW 46.09.430 RCW 46.68.045 (h) Vehicle trip $ 25.00 RCW 46.16A.320 RCW 46.68.455 (2) Permit or temporary license plate fees as provided in subsection (1) of this section are in addition to the filing fee required under RCW 46.17.005, except an additional filing fee may not be charged for: (a) Dealer temporary license plates; (b) Special fuel trip permits; and (c) Vehicle trip permits. (3) $5 of the $40 dealer temporary license plate fee provided in subsection (1)(a) of this section must be credited to the payment of vehicle license fees at the time application for registration is made. $25 of the $40 dealer temporary permit fee provided in subsection (1)(a) of this section must be deposited in the move ahead WA account created in RCW 46.68.510. The remainder must be deposited to the state patrol highway account created in RCW 46.68.030. [ 2022 c 182 s 204; 2022 c 132 s 6; 2011 c 171 s 62; 2010 c 161 s 535.] NOTES: Reviser's note: RCW 46.17.410 Off-road vehicle registration transfer fee. Before accepting an application for a transfer of an off-road vehicle registration as required under RCW 46.09.410, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a five dollar off-road vehicle registration transfer fee. The five dollar off-road vehicle registration transfer fee must be distributed under RCW 46.68.020. [ 2010 c 161 s 536.] NOTES: Effective date— RCW 46.17.420 Snowmobile registration transfer fee. Before accepting an application for a transfer of a snowmobile registration as required under RCW 46.10.400, the department, county auditor or other agent, or subagent appointed by the director shall require the applicant to pay a five dollar snowmobile registration transfer fee. The five dollar snowmobile registration transfer fee must be distributed under RCW 46.68.350. [ 2010 c 161 s 537.] NOTES: Effective date—

    Related guides, FAQ and contract templates